UK First Edition
1960 - Michael Joseph

Stan Barstow's most famous novel; it is a first-person, present tense story of a young man who has a physical infatuation for a girl, which inevitably leads to a pregnancy and marriage.

This is a wonderful book. Read it!

A Kind of Loving
The Watchers on the Shore
The Right True End

Other information
A Kind of Loving DVD
A Kind of Loving TV DVD
A Kind of Loving was filmed in 1961. It starred Alan Bates, June Ritchie and Thora Hird, and was directed by John Schlesinger. It was released on DVD in the UK in 2001.

The trilogy was made into a TV series in 1982, starring Clive Wood as Vic, Joanna Whalley as Ingrid and Susan Penhaligon as Donna. It was released on DVD in the UK in 2009.

A Kind of Loving Audio Book
A Kind of Loving audio book
It was also produced as a radio play in 1964 on the BBC, and as a stage play (written by Stan Barstow and Alfred Bradley) in 1965 at the Sheffield Playhouse. The playscript was published by Blackie in 1970. More recently, it has been adapted for the stage by John Godber, and is to be premiered at the Wakefield Theatre Royal in March 2013.

A Kind of Loving was released as an (abridged) audio book by MCI Spoken Word in 1995, read by Richard Huw. It is also available as an unabridged audio book (eight cassettes!), published by Oasis in 1991, and read by Stephen Thorne.

The book was featured on BBC Radio 4's A Book at Bedtime in May 1998, read by Sean Bean.

The book was dramatized on Radio 4 in ten parts, by Diana Griffiths, in 2010.

A special edition of A Kind of Loving was released for the 50th anniversary of the first publication of the book. It was published by Parthian Books, and is still in print.

The book is also available as an eBook, both in Kindle and ePub format.

The first edition is very easy to find, but generally a bit pricy, as this is Barstow's most famous book. Second-hand paperback copies in good condition are very easy to find.

The book has been translated into several languages, including Dutch, Swedish, Danish, German, Czech, Slovak, Russian, Lithuanian and Armenian.

These pages are copyright © Martin Benson 1999-2021. You are welcome to link to them.
To link to this page, please use the following:-

Back to Stan Barstow Home Page