UK First Edition
1986 - Michael Joseph

The first of Stan Barstow's wartime trilogy, Just You Wait and See follows the story of Ella Palmer, the youngest in a family in a mining village. It starts in 1938, when Ella is the last still living at home, and starting to think about getting married. She finds herself torn between Walter Lindley, the local dependable butcher, and the romantic charms of Howard Strickland, a visiting tradesman who has seen something of the world outside her village.

This has all of Stan Barstow's charm, and is an excellent tale.

Just You Wait and See
Give Us This Day
Next of Kin

Other information
There is an unabridged audio book available, published by Soundings and read by Christopher Kay.

These pages are copyright © Martin Benson 1999-2021. You are welcome to link to them.
To link to this page, please use the following:-

Back to Stan Barstow Home Page